St. Paul Business License Guide: DSI Licenses, Class N, 2026 Fees and Home Occupation Affidavit
St. Paul Business License Guide: DSI Licenses, Class N, 2026 Fees and Home Occupation Affidavit
If you are searching for a St. Paul, MN business license, the first thing to know is that the city does not issue one. St. Paul has no general business license. It licenses by category, meaning the type of activity you run. The category sets the fee, the inspections and zoning reviews that apply, and whether neighboring property owners get notice before a decision. Almost all of that work runs through the Department of Safety and Inspections (DSI) and its PAULIE portal.
This guide walks through the steps to identify the right license, what the 2026 fees look like, and when a home-based business needs a zoning affidavit. It is informational content, not legal or tax advice. Confirm current requirements with DSI, and talk to a qualified attorney or CPA before you sign a lease or commit money to a launch date.
Materials and information to gather first
Pull these together before you open the portal. Having these ready keeps the file moving.
- Your legal business name and entity type. Know whether you are a sole proprietor, LLC, or corporation. If you operate under a name other than your legal name, you also need a Certificate of Assumed Name (see Step 2).
- Your Secretary of State filing, if you formed an entity. Articles of Organization for an LLC cost $155 online or in person, or $135 by mail. Search existing names at the Minnesota Business Search.
- The street address of the location. Note whether it is a home address, because that changes the zoning steps.
- Your Minnesota Tax ID and sales and use tax account number, if you will make taxable sales.
- A plain description of what you sell or do. Write it in the terms the DSI fee table uses so the category match is clean.
- State license numbers for any regulated trade. A restaurant is licensed by the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), not by the city, so confirm with DSI and MDH what each office needs from you.
Step 1: Find your category, not a "general" license
Start by mapping your activity to a DSI category. Look for the category that matches the work you will do at the address, not the one that sounds most like your brand. A coffee shop that also serves beer, for example, needs to be checked against the liquor categories, not only a food category. Ask DSI which categories apply before you pay anything, because one location can need more than one license.
Do not hunt for a statewide or citywide "business license number." Minnesota has no general statewide business license either. A Secretary of State filing is a filing, not a license, and a Department of Revenue tax registration is not a license.
Step 2: Register the entity and any trade name
Form the entity first if you plan to use one, because DSI will ask for the legal name. Two costs matter here:
- LLC: Articles of Organization cost $155 online or in person, which is expedited, or $135 by mail, which is not. The Annual Renewal costs $0 and is due December 31 each year. LLC formation does not require newspaper publication.
- Assumed name (DBA): A Certificate of Assumed Name costs $50 online or in person, or $30 by mail. It is filed only with the Secretary of State, Business Services. You must publish it for two consecutive issues in a qualified legal newspaper in the county where your principal place of business is located. If you skip publication, the certificate may be invalid. It renews annually at no charge. File and check it at the Secretary of State assumed name page.
Step 3: Register for taxes before your first sale
Register with the Minnesota Department of Revenue for a Tax ID and a sales and use tax account before you make taxable sales. Use the Revenue new business registration page. The state sales tax rate is 6.875 percent. Local taxes are added on top, and St. Paul's combined general sales tax rate is 9.875 percent from October 1, 2026, which was the highest among the cities we checked. Confirm the rate on the Department of Revenue site at revenue.state.mn.us before you set prices.
Step 4: Check state licenses that the city does not issue
The city does not license everything. Several activities are licensed by state agencies, so confirm with DSI whether any state approval must be in hand before the city acts. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) licenses restaurants. The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) licenses prepackaged retail food. Other trades go to the Department of Labor and Industry, the Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division, the Office of Cannabis Management, or a professional board. Search the state's central lookup, License Minnesota, at mn.gov/elicense, and get your state approvals in motion early because they run on their own timelines.
Step 5: Confirm zoning and file the home occupation affidavit
If the business will operate from a home, you need a zoning affidavit under the home occupation rules before the city will approve it. Describe the activity you plan to run at home, then confirm with DSI the current affidavit form, where it is filed, and whether it carries a fee. This guide does not list a home occupation fee, so treat that as an open question to confirm with DSI.
Do not assume that a home address automatically qualifies. Zoning limits on customers, employees, signage, and deliveries vary by activity. If your plan involves a sales-heavy or customer-facing use, ask DSI before you sign anything or buy equipment.
Step 6: Apply through PAULIE and plan for Class N notice
Apply through the DSI PAULIE portal, or contact DSI directly at 375 Jackson St., Suite 220, or 651-266-8989. Many categories are routine. Licenses marked Class N are different. Restaurants and bars, breweries, event venues, and auto shops are common examples. For these, the city must send public notice to neighboring property owners before it acts. That notice adds time that you cannot shortcut, so build it into your opening date. Ask DSI how long the notice period runs and what it needs from you to start it. This guide does not state a number of days, so do not promise an opening date until DSI confirms the timeline.
2026 fee reference
The figures below come from the DSI fee table, last edited October 7, 2026. Confirm each figure on DSI's fee table before you pay, because fees change.
| Category | 2026 fee |
|---|---|
| Liquor on-sale (100 seats or less to 291 seats or more) | $5,361 to $6,448 |
| Wine on-sale | $2,000 |
| Liquor off-sale | $1,500 |
| Malt on-sale | $712 |
| Entertainment, classes A / B / C | $278 / $672 / $3,191 |
| Massage center, class A commercial | $262 |
| Tobacco shop | $535 |
| Pawn shop | $3,191 |
| Peddler | $85 |
| Mobile retail vehicle | $85 |
| Auto repair garage | $507 |
| Short-term rental host, per unit | $45 |
Liquor on-sale fees step up by seat count, so confirm your tier before you apply. Cannabis retail registration with the city is handled on paper. The city's fee for it is not listed here, so check with DSI for the current amount.
Step 7: Keep renewals on schedule
Class N renewals have a time-limited window. Through December 31, 2026, you may pay a renewal up to six months late with no late fee, but you still owe the full fee. After that date the grace period is not guaranteed, so confirm the rule with DSI before you rely on it. Put the renewal date on your calendar the same day you receive the license.
St. Paul also runs Neighborhood STAR capital grants for qualifying projects. Ask the city whether your project qualifies before you sign a build contract, because grant eligibility is typically decided on the project's own terms and timing.
Common mistakes to avoid
- Searching for a general business license. St. Paul does not issue one. Pay for the category you need.
- Skipping newspaper publication on a DBA. A Certificate of Assumed Name that is not published may be invalid, even though LLC formation does not need publication.
- Treating the Secretary of State filing as the license. The filing creates your entity. It does not authorize you to operate in St. Paul.
- Forgetting the zoning affidavit for a home business. A home address does not clear zoning on its own.
- Choosing the wrong fee row. Wine, malt, and liquor on-sale are priced separately, and liquor on-sale depends on seat count.
- Assuming the city licenses restaurant food safety. MDH licenses restaurants, and MDA licenses prepackaged retail. The city review does not replace them.
- Ignoring the Class N notice period. Public notice takes time, so build it into your opening date.
- Missing a renewal. Late renewals can carry a fee, and the Class N grace window is time-limited.
What a successful application looks like
If your entity, tax registration, state approvals, and zoning affidavit are in order, and your category matches your activity, you should expect the city review to move forward without unexpected rework. You may also see the license issue once the required reviews and any Class N notice period are complete. Processing times depend on the category and the completeness of your file, and this guide does not state a turnaround for DSI. Ask DSI for an estimate at intake and plan your opening around the slowest approval, not the fastest.
When to get professional help
A single-location business with one category usually can file on its own. Get help from a qualified attorney for entity choice, lease terms, or any liquor, cannabis, or pawn activity, where the rules and penalties are heavy. Ask a qualified CPA about sales tax, entity taxation, and the state minimum fee for C corporations, S corporations, and partnerships under Minn. Stat. 290.0922.
Disclaimer: This article is informational content, not legal or tax advice. Fees, rules, and timelines can change, and the figures here reflect the sources cited on the research date. Verify every figure with the Minnesota Secretary of State, the Minnesota Department of Revenue, DSI, and any state agency that licenses your activity before you act.